Range time with a friend. Also: Ooooooooooowwwwwwww.

Sunday dawned bright and beautiful, and C and I decided to hit the range for an hour. I still hadn’t shot my Plinkster, he still hadn’t shot his 12ga pump. We invited my best friend, L, as he hadn’t seen any firearms in the past decade.

Turns out, dude needed the range time.

Anyway, here’s a couple of short reviews.

Mossberg 702 Plinkster: GREAT little semiauto .22. This little bugger is accurate right out of the box. I attribute it to a good set of sights – the hooded front really helps when shooting all the way to the end of the range.* It had no feed issues, but the magazine definitely needs some oiling. At $125, it was well worth the money – it ate through a box of Remington target crap ammo like it was nothing. Overall, I’m pleased with it, C is pleased with it, and I think it’ll be in the safe for a good, long time.

IAC Hawk model 982: decent shotgun. I believe it’s based off the Mossberg 500 design – it certainly looks like it. There are options out there to modify it – C’s has an extended tube and a new stock/grip, as well as a side holster for extra shells. He seems pleased. I only know the pain of shooting a shotgun not meant for my stubby little hobbit arms (though after our Hunter Safety course came to a close last night, I have since realized the beauty of a well-fitted shotgun).

We didn’t rent any, since L got enough jollies from that which we brought along to shoot. I also got a chance to talk with the guys who work at the range, and apparently I can, in fact, get my hands on a Para GI Expert ESP – I merely need to bug them to get it. They certainly seemed to like it more than I expected…I’d say they liked it as much as the STI Spartan (which they really do like). This gives me a good idea of what I’m doing by the end of the year.

This entry was posted in gun stuff, newbie shooters, range time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

