Range Report: Rock Island Armory Match

I’m finally getting around to posting this…I figured today’s as good a day as any, considering it’s been 100 years since the pistol was given a “home” with our military.

Chris, my cousin V, and I took the pistol out to the range last Wednesday (and by “last Wednesday” I mean a month and some change ago)…and, well, I’m pleased.  This was an excellent choice for a “big kid” gun – until now my only pistol was my Bersa, and it’s incredibly different from the 1911. 

So, my opinions…

The trigger is nice and light.  There is almost no effort involved, especially compared to my little Bersa.  This surprised me – I expected the trigger to be much heavier, even knowing it’s a 3.5lb trigger.

The sights are nice.  I like the large black rear sight, as it helps to make the front sight seem a bit more visible than the three-dot setup on the Bersa.  The pistol is really accurate out of the box thanks to the upgraded sights, and any accuracy issues I had were entirely operator-related.

So far, there are no reliability issues.  The three of us put 100 rounds downrange – I know, it’s not enough to really test it, but it was enough to make me happy.  We had one malf, and that was due to the cheap extra mags I brought along.  With the original mag, it ate all the cheap Remington I put through it.  Next visit will involve other brands – we’ve got Winchester and UMC in the box at home, and I look forward to seeing how it handles those.

The grips are alright, but I intend to swap them out sometime soon.  I’m just not a fan of the checkered look (or feel – my hands is delicate!), so I’ll pick up a set soon.  If Wilson ever gets the set I’ve been eyeing back in stock, that is.

And now, here’s what you’ve all been waiting for (click to embiggenize):

And now I realize I need to oil it up…DANG that rear sight got rusty quick!

This entry was posted in 2A, firearms, gun stuff, guns, range time, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

