Self defense redux.

Back in February, I posted this.  Today, I had a situation reaffirm what I discussed in that post.

This morning was bad shortly after I woke up.  I got up late, had cat mess to clean up, was distracted, left the pepper spray and belt knife upstairs.

By the time I hit the highway, I realized I wouldn’t just be late…I would be RIDICULOUSLY late.  Highway was backed up for at least a couple of miles.  Insert groan here.

By the time I neared work, I realized I’d forgotten to pack food…so I stopped at the grocery store nearest my office.  I have done this so many times before it’s nearly second nature – pull in, grab food, pay, go.  It usually takes me 5 minutes, tops.

Today, however, something was definitely off.  Someone was following me around the store.  He was a white male, about 6’2″ tall, maybe 200 lbs.  He apparently decided I was interesting, and decided to follow me around the store.  The guy didn’t look at anything or anyone but me.  By the time I was midway through the store, I was fed up – screamed at him to get the hell away from me.  He took off running, and I completed my shopping.  Turns out, the guy was waiting for me on his scooter outside the door.  He waited until I exited the store to start his scooter.  I screamed at him again and called the police – fortunately, at that point he took off.

So, in summation: idiot decides I’m a tasty morsel of cowflesh.  I prevent him from doing anything.  I’m safe and at work, and he’s…who-knows-where.  The police never showed up (which isn’t surprising, really, in this town) and no one in the store reacted.  I’m angry with myself for leaving home the two things I own for situations just like this, but I’ll be more vigilant tomorrow.  At least I HAVE a tomorrow.  At least I know that if someone tries to sneak up on me, it’s like sneaking up on a goose – I’ll be noisy and defensive, even when I’m not quite awake.  Hooray for gut reactions actually being appropriate.

At least I’m alright.  If the guy had a gun and decided to use it, however, I wouldn’t be…and because the police didn’t bother to show, I lack any sort of real record of this incident.  Not that it would be enough to get me a carry permit anyway…

This entry was posted in blogging, dirty rotten scoundrels, self defense isn't an option. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Self defense redux.

  1. Mike W. says:

    You mean the police didn't show up…. in Baltimore! Impossible!

    Glad you're alright and good on you for maintaining situational awareness. Stay safe!

  2. Alan says:

    The most important weapon didn't get left behind and you're not a police report this morning.

    Good lesson for everyone.

  3. North says:

    I get all bothered and turn up my 'protection' dial to 11 when I hear that.

    Glad you are safe.

  4. Good on you! Sure, you didn't feel prepared for the situation, but you still took ownership of it and refused to be a victim. I'm proud of you!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Good job! I've been there too. Reading your story was all too familiar.

  6. Chris says:

    Like I told you this morning. You kept heads up and refused to be a victim. Just because you forgot your other stuff dosen't mean you were left defenseless. 🙂 I'm very glad you're ok and I proud that you handled it well.

  7. Glad you made it through this one w/o any serious problems. We all have been rushed and left gear behind. Clint Smith has taught us that 2 is 1, 1 is 0. I don't know what the Maryland Law is, but if you can “Double Up” on your Protective Gear and put it in your vehicle, then, if you leave Home w/o something, just grab the spares. Also, if you can keep something in your workplace, that will also be useful. Hope this helps.

  8. Glad you were aware and willing to do something to get rid of the creep. How many citizens wouldn't even notice him following? It's scary to watch young men and women walking around with headphones and cell phones just making themselves sitting ducks for the creeps of the world. Glad it all turned out okay.

Leave a Reply

