"Hipster" hunters?

Chris found two articles that I found interesting.  He’s not yet sure how he feels about it, but I figured I’d share my thoughts.

It seems people are piggybacking on the Paleo diet craze that’s picked up recently, and taking it to a degree I’ve never seen before.  The idea of truly primitive hunting is … well, it’s interesting.  And a bit nuts.  I’m not 100% on board with either idea, but I’m all for getting close to food, admitting food had a face, and acknowledging the origins of what they eat.  People need to take back responsibility for what they eat – that’s how we got ourselves into the GMO crop and abused food animal problem in the first place.  If that movement gets more people hunting?  Awesome.  I’m all for it.
I guess my only real concern is that this will be another fad, and it’ll die off in 6 months to a year…and my only hope is that some folks will get past the fad stage, find they really like it, and stick with it.  I can deal with it if they need justification for hunting – they can claim it’s so they eat healthier, are getting back to their ancestral roots, or whatever.  Hell, dress up in silly clothes, dance around a fire, do whatever the hell they need to do to make themselves feel better about it.

Whatever they do, though, I hope they do these three things: Eat better.  Live better and don’t be a douche about it.  And don’t feel guilty for enjoying it, either...why else would we be alive, if not to enjoy the time we have?

This entry was posted in food, hunting, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

