Another Freestate visit…I’m getting a lot of practice lately…

Yesterday I met up with an old friend, who I finally met in person for the first time. Thanks to the powers of the internet J and I have known each other for quite a few years and finally got our schedules coordinated enough to meet up for a shooty evening.

I brought the Bersa and the Rock Island, he brought a PX4 Storm in .40, a Buckmark (with a suppressor), and two SIGs (with a suppressor on one of them). Neither of us are newbs, so this wasn’t like my normal range visit.

First, I’d like to make a confession: I made my first Really Dumb Mistake at the range. Somehow I forgot to put on my shooting glasses before walking into the range, and J had to remind me. Apparently my mind was elsewhere. Thankfully, my stupid mistake was corrected without incident and we continued on our evening of killing paper.

Anyway, my impressions:
1 – The Buckmark. I like this a hell of a lot better with the can OFF the front, though it was neat as hell to shoot a .22 with literally no recoil and almost no sound. The backpressure from the suppressor was distracting, however, so I took it off after the first magazine. Overall, it’s a nice little .22, and that might end up on the short list.
2 – The Beretta. I asked J to bring this since I’m in the market for a PX4 Storm in 9mm. I wanted a feel for the real thing, rather than the testers they had set up at the NRA convention. My overall impression is good, but I can see why people truly hate this gun in .40 – my trigger finger went numb after two magazines. Apparently this is a common complaint of the .40 PX4. Controls are where they need to be, the slide release isn’t too much of a pain in the ass, and the rotating barrel definitely helps with recoil. This was the first .40 I’ve had the opportunity to shoot, and while I don’t see myself buying a .40, I don’t really understand why people hate it. It’s alright. Definitely liked the pistol, though.
3 – The SIGs. At least one of them was in .45, and this was the suppressed gun. Again, I have no love for the suppressor. I’m told they’re more pleasant to shoot outdoors, and maybe he’ll give me an opportunity to test this at a later date. Right now, though, do not like.

He seemed to like the Bersa despite his big bearpaw hands, and I think he’s got 1911 envy. 😀 Thanks, J, for hoofing it all the way up to my range. Next time I’ll head down your direction.

This entry was posted in gun stuff, guns, i has a stupid, range time, Very Good Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

